Dear Children

 You will remenber that, in the front part of Glinda of Oz, the Publishers told you that when Mr.Baum went away from this world he left behind some unfinished notes about the Princess Ozma and Dorothy and the jolly peaple of Wonderful Land of Oz. The Publishers promised that they would try to put these notes together into a new Oz book for you.

 Well, here it is---The Royal Book of Oz.

 I am sure that Mr. Baum would be pleased that Ruth Plumly Tompson, who has known and loved the Oz Story ever since she was a little girl, has made this new Oz story, with all the Oz folks in it and ture to life.

 You see I am Mrs.Baum, the wife of the Royal Historian of Oz, and so I know how he feels about everything.

 Now, about the story:

 Of course, we all knew the Scarecrow was a very fine fellow, but surely we never guessed he ascended from an emperor. Most of us descend from our ancestors, but the Scarecrow really ASENDED.

 The Scarecrow had a most exciting and the Cowardly Lion just ran out of one adventure into another trying to rescue him. They made some charming new friends in their travels ---Sir Hokus of Pokes, the Doubtful Dromedary, and the Comgortable Camel. You'll find them very unusual and likable. They have the same peculiar, delightful and onformal natures that we love in all the queer Oz peaple.

 Of course every one of us is happy that John R. Neill has drawn the funny and lovely pictures for the new book. Mr.Neill surely is the Royal Painter of Oz.

 This note is intended for all the children of America, who knew and loved Mr.Baum, and it goes to each of you with his love and mine.


Chapter 1: Professor Wogglebug's Great Idea
Chapter 2: The Scarecrow's Family Tree
Chapter 3: Down the Magic Bean Pole
Chapter 4: Dorthy's Lonely Breakfast
Chapter 5: Sir Hokus of Pokes
Chapter 6: Singing Their Way Out of Pokes
Chapter 7: The Scarecrow is Hailed as Emperor
Chapter 8: The Scarecrow Studies the Silver Island
Chapter 9: "Save Us With Your Magic, Exalted One!"
Chapter 10: Princess Ozma and Betsy Bobbin Talk it Over
Chapter 11: Sir Hokus Overcometh the Giant
Chapter 12: Dorothy and Sir Hokus Come to Fix City
Chapter 13: Dancing Beds and the Roads that Unrolled
Chapter 14: Sons and Grandsons Greet the Scarecrow
Chapter 15: The Tree Princess Plot to Undue the Emperor
Chapter 16: Dorthy and Her Gaurdians Meet New Friends
Chapter 17: Doubty and Camy Vanish into Space
Chapter 18: Dorthy Finds the Scarecrow!
Chapter 19: Planning to Fly from Silver Island
Chapter 20: Dorothy Upsets the Ceremony of the Island
Chapter 21: The Escape for the Silver Island
Chapter 22: The Flight of the Parasol
Chapter 23: Safe at Last in the Land of Oz
Chapter 24: Homeward Bound to the Emerald City

Happy end をあなたに